Processing Order Please Wait

Once the process is finished,
you will be automatically
redirected to the order confirmation page.

SUMMER SAVING! Get EXTRA 10% OFF on All Orders PKR 5000 and above

Use Promo Code: SUMMER10


India: Another Millennium - (HB)

India: Another Millennium - (HB)

India: Another Millennium - (HB)

By: Romila Thapar

Publication Date:
Jan, 01 2008
Hard Back
Availability :
In Stock
  • Rs 297.00

  • Rs 495.00
  • Ex Tax :Rs 297.00

You saved Rs 198.00.

Due to constant currency fluctuation, prices are subject to change with or without notice.

Read More Details
In this collection of essays, edited by Romila Thapar, and accompanied by her introduction, fourteen of India’s foremost scholars and specialists in various fields explore the challenges that lie before twenty-first century India in its quest for a democratic and just society. Globalization and the IT revolution provide a new context to the problems faced by contemporary India. But will globalization ensure rapid economic growth and development in the face of low literacy, rising population, and the gradual withdrawal of the State from social commitments? Will imitation westernization, and the consumerism that comes with it, further a just society? What are the strains that democracy will be subjected to in the empowerment struggle by marginalized groups, and the growing social and economic disparities that are often accompanied by violence and terrorism? How will India’s multiculturalism be affected by the upsurge of various identies and of exclusionist nationalism? Will the family as an institution be transformed to enhance gender justice? Will new technology ensure the autonomy of the media? Can the mauling of the Indian landscape be halted? Covering a large canvas, INDIA: Another Millennium? Compels us to look at the hard choices before India in the early decades of this millennium. The volume includes essays by Bina Agarwal, Javeed Alam, Kaushik Basu, Rustom Bharucha, Dipankar Gupta, Gopal Guru, Sunil Khilnani, Krishna Kumar, N.R. Narayana Murthy, Prabhat Patnaik, Dhruv Raina, N. Ram, Mahesh Rangarajan and P. Sainath.