The Lying Down Room

The Lying Down Room

The Lying Down Room

By: Anna Jaquiery


Publication Date:
Apr, 23 2015
Binding:
Paper Back
Availability :
In Stock
  • Rs 521.25

  • Rs 695.00
  • Ex Tax :Rs 521.25
  • Price in loyalty points :660

You saved Rs 173.75.

Due to constant currency fluctuation, prices are subject to change with or without notice.

Read More Details

Paris; in the stifling August heat, Commandant Serge Morel is called to a disturbing crime scene. An elderly woman has been murdered to the soundtrack of Faure's Requiem, her body then grotesquely displayed.

At first this strange case seems to offer few clues; and Morel has problems of his own. His father - always a great force in his life - is beginning to succumb to senility; and he is unsettled by the reappearance of the beautiful Mathilde, the woman he once loved. Only origami can help calm the detective and focus his thoughts on this troubling crime.

As the investigation progresses, the key suspects to emerge are a middle-aged man and a mute teenage boy who have been delivering religious pamphlets in the city's suburbs. But as more elderly ladies are targeted, Morel will find his enquiries leading him back into the past, from the French countryside to Soviet Russia - and to two young boys with the most terrible of stories to tell . . .

An evocative, gripping crime novel with an aching heart: The Lying-Down Room is the stunning first novel in Anna Jaquiery's Commandant Morel series; perfect for fans of Michael Dibdin and Donna Leon.