Processing Order Please Wait

Once the process is finished,
you will be automatically
redirected to the order confirmation page.

GET PKR 500 OFF + FREE SHIPPING on all orders of PKR 5000 and above

Use Promo Code: TREAT500

cart-icon

Burial Rites

Burial Rites

Burial Rites

By: Hannah Kent


Publication Date:
Feb, 27 2014
Binding:
Paper Back
Availability :
In Stock
  • Rs 2,395.00

  • Ex Tax :Rs 2,395.00
  • Price in loyalty points :2395

Due to constant currency fluctuation, prices are subject to change with or without notice.

Read More Details
BBC Between the Covers Book Club pick!

Set against Iceland's stark landscape, Hannah Kent brings to vivid life the story of Agnes, who is charged with the brutal murder of her former master.

'Outstanding' – Madeline Miller


- The Women's Prize for Fiction Shortlist
- The Guardian First Book Award Shortlist
- The International IMPAC Dublin Literary Awards Shortlist

Iceland, 1829  Agnes Magnúsdóttir is condemned to death for her part in the murder of her lover.

Agnes is sent to wait out her final months on the farm of district officer Jón Jónsson, his wife and their two daughters. Horrified to have a convicted murderer in their midst, the family avoid contact with Agnes. Only Tóti, the young assistant priest appointed Agnes’s spiritual guardian, is compelled to try to understand her. As the year progresses and the hardships of rural life force the household to work side by side, Agnes’s story begins to emerge and with it the family’s terrible realization that all is not as they had assumed.

Based on actual events, 
Burial Rites is an astonishing and moving novel about the truths we claim to know and the ways in which we interpret what we’re told. In beautiful, cut-glass prose, Hannah Kent portrays Iceland’s formidable landscape, in which every day is a battle for survival, and asks, how can one woman hope to endure when her life depends upon the stories told by others?

Inspired by a true story, Burial Rites is perfect for fans of Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood and The Wonder by Emma Donoghue

'Sublime' – Sunday Telegraph

'One of the most gripping, intriguing and unique books I’ve read this year' – Kate Mosse