Processing Order Please Wait

Once the process is finished,
you will be automatically
redirected to the order confirmation page.

SUMMER SAVING! Get EXTRA 10% OFF on All Orders PKR 5000 and above

Use Promo Code: SUMMER10

cart-icon

The Knot of My Tongue - Poems and Prose

The Knot of My Tongue - Poems and Prose

The Knot of My Tongue - Poems and Prose

By: Zehra Naqvi


Publication Date:
Mar, 26 2024
Binding:
Trade Paper Back
Availability :
In Stock
  • Rs 4,995.00

  • Ex Tax :Rs 4,995.00
  • Price in loyalty points :4995

Due to constant currency fluctuation, prices are subject to change with or without notice.

Read More Details
For readers of Fatimah Asghar’s If They Come for Us, here is a searing, multidimensional debut about the search for language and self, which is life itself.

I knew it was time to build what could carry, what could find the high point
to name what I knew to be the world and carry it with me


At the heart of 
The Knot of My Tongue is Zehra Naqvi’s storying of language itself and the self-re-visioning that follows devastating personal rupture. Employing a variety of poetic forms, these intimate, searching poems address generations, continents, and dominions to examine loss of expression in the aftermath of collisions with powerful forces, ranging from histories to intimacies. 

Naqvi follows a cast of characters from personal memory, family history, and Quranic traditions, at instances where they have either been rendered silent or found ways to attempt the inexpressible—a father struggling to speak as an immigrant in Canada; a grandmother as she loses her children and her home after the 1947 Partition; the Islamic story of Hajar, abandoned in the desert without water; the myth of Philomela who finds language even after her husband cuts off her tongue.  

Brilliantly blending the personal and the communal, memory and myth, theology and tradition, the poems in this collection train our attention—slow and immediate, public and private—on our primal ability to communicate, recover, and survive. This example is striking for the power of its speaking through loss and a singular, radiant vision.